Sunday, 30 August 2009

Richards North Wales 10k Title

Eryri's Richard Roberts and Andrea Rowland's took time out from mountain running to win the Senior Men/Women's North Wales 10km titles which was incorporated into the Caernarfon 10km road race on Sunday 30th August
Weather conditions were overcast, dry and warm with a slight head wind along the Menai Straits which got stronger after the 2km mark, though nothing to what we have experienced in the past! Richard stayed with 2007 race winner and club mate Gwyn Owen along the Menai Straits until the left turn after the 4km mark when Richard opened up a gap on Gwyn which he maintained and extended to the finish at the Coed Helen Recreational Grounds in a time of 33:29 with Gwyn 2nd in 33:57 while Brendan Rothery had another good run to finish 5th in 34:59.
Andrea Rowland's led from the start to win the women's title in a time of 40:02. Eryri's other North Wales Championship winners were: MV/50 Arwel Lewis 38:22 and MV/65 Emyr Davies 44:12 who added yet another North Wales title to his vast collection! ahead of club mate Don Williams 44:58.
Well done to the 27 Eryri Harriers who were among the 163 finishers in the club organised race and a big thank you to the following race officials/marshals who helped to make the race a success.
Registration/Results: Sharon Owen & Ann Lewis.
Timekeepers: Phil Tan Jones & Eilir Evans.
Number recorders: Ann Lewis & Lorraine.
Lead car/Course layout: Dafydd Ellis (Who originally set up and organised the race in 1986).
Marshals: Alan Lewis. Gwilym Rhys Lewis. Peter Lewis and Dave Pryce.
Drink Station: Chris Evans.
Race Referee: Paul Brooks.
Finally. Thank you to St John Ambulance and Gwynedd County Council for their support.
Plus anyone else that I might have missed out!
Arwel Lewis

No comments:

Post a Comment