Sunday, 15 March 2009


Eryri's men responded like true champions overturning a 99 point deficit to win the 4.5 mile penultimate Border League fixture at Deeside on Sunday 15th March with four of their runners finishing in the top five places led by champion elect Rob Samuel who has won all five Border league races that he has run in, Rob won in a time of 22:45 followed by club mate Richard Roberts who found the hilly course to his liking with a time of 23:26, then came Matthew Roberts in 4th 23:54 despite his excursions the previous day in finishing 2nd in the Moel Wnion mountain race. 5th Brendan Rothery 23:59. 13th Iain Ridgway 24:47. 23rd (despite a heavy cold) Paul Wathan 25:32. 35th (Talisman) Paul Howarth 26:09. 38th (after working a night shift) Tony Woodall 26:11. 66th Arwel Lewis 27:16. 96th Christoph Gertler 28:30. 102nd (in his 50th B/L race) Steve Livett 28:45. 105th Ashley Wager 28:54. 123rd (1st Vet65) Another who ran in the Moel Wnion race the previous day in winning the M/V60 category, super vet Don Williams 29:56. 132nd (2nd Vet65) Emyr Davies 30:31. 143rd Peter Lewis 31:07. 148th Ian Rothery 31:15 and 157th (bus driver) Mervyn Williams 31:32. In the overall individual standings: Rob Samuel leads the way with Brendan Rothery 2nd and Iain Ridgway 7th. Paul Wathan is currently 3rd U20/Male, Don Williams 1st Vet 65 and Emyr Davies 2nd Vet 65.
Eryri's men now have a 56 point lead ahead of Buckley with only the final race to go at Wrexham on Wednesday 29th April.
On the negative side! Eryri's women are destined for relegation back to Division 2 after only the one season in the first, though it is not all doom and gloom for our women with Sarah Ridgway on course to win the individual title which would be a first for Eryri, Sarah finished 75th overall, 1st Senior Lady in 27:35 with Gemma Morgans 162nd (2nd U20/L) in 31:40. Gemma is currently placed 2nd U20/L in the overall individual standings.
There were 256 finishers in the Deeside B/L race.

No comments:

Post a Comment